UNESCO Vega Archipelago – Hurtigruten land excursion

UNESCO Vega Island by Serena Barolo, Hurtigruten

The UNESCO Vega Archipelago was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2004, a status gained due to the unique coexistence between the eider ducks and the islanders.

This is an optional land excursion which you can add to your Hurtigruten cruise booked through Fjord Travel Norway. The land excursion will appear during the cruise booking process, with prices and details.

Landscape on Vega Islands by Claude Tremuth, Hurtigruten

Landscape around Vega archipelago

Your tour around these islands will give you an insight into local village life as you travel by boat from Sandnessjoen, through a myriad of islands to Gardsoy on Vega. The tour includes a visit to Vega World Heritage Centre. Here you are taken on a journey through the history of the Vega archipelago, from Stone Age settlements to modern times. A visit to the World Heritage Centre will give you an insight into the 1500 years old practice of tending eider ducks. A tradition which seeks to continue the unique interplay between eider ducks and eider tenders.
From here you travel back through the Vega archipelago to Bronnoysund, where you rejoin your ship.
Read more about the Helgeland coast

Torghatten by Konrad Daurer, Hurtigruten

Helgeland coast

Practical information:

Duration: 5 hours
Transportation: Boat
Direction: Southbound
Included: Local fruit drink, coffee/tea, local snack
Clothes/footwear: Comfortable shoes and warm clothing
Note: There is a café and shop at the World Heritage Centre with food, drinks and local souvenirs.
Available: June 10- September 9
Land excursion #10B

View all our Tours & Cruises

Contact Fjord Travel Norway:
Use our contact form, send e-mail to [email protected], or
call us on +47 (55) 131-310 (Mon-Fri 09:00 to 15:30 local time)

What our customers say:

  • We just recently completed the Tromso, Northern Lights & Arctic Coast tour. I am writing to say what an amazing tour we had. Everything ran smoothly without an issue, the accommodation was fantastic and the tours were brilliant. We cannot fault the package at all. I would also like to thank Franziska and Lene, they both were fantastic in answering all my questions promptly, whilst booking the tour. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable holiday!

    Robert, Australia

  • I wanted to thank everybody. We had a wonderful trip. Everything went well and fortunately we had the chance to see the lights while on the cruise. All my friends in Turkey would like to go on a similar trip. So I will be in touch with you. Thanks again and best wishes to all of you.

    Candan, Turkey

  • On behalf of the group I would like to thank you and your colleagues for organizing our wonderful tour of Norway. Everything went very well including the weather, which was spectacular. We enjoyed all the hotels, the central locations you chose and the amenities, especially the lavish breakfasts. Three extra days in Oslo allowed us to tour the city at our leisure and to enjoy more of the important sights including the newly opened National Museum. The Norway in a Nutshell tour was amazing and made much easier by using your recommended porterage service between hotels in Oslo and Bergen. Both the train journeys and the boat trip were spectacular, and combined with a night in the beautiful Kviknes Hotel made for an unforgettable two days. We were very impressed by the Hurtigruten cruise, particularly the way they combined a working ship with a cruise ship, the comfortable accommodations, the food and service. It was fascinating to visit all the various ports, islands and fjords and the two included tours were excellent and informative. In the end we were glad to have the extra night in Kirkenes, to visit their lovely museum and take a trip to the Russian border. It was a good way to end the tour. Again, thank for staying with us through 2 years of pandemic postponements and changes. We certainly will recommend Fjord Travel in the future.

    Marilyn, United States